I Forge Iron

Connecting a Champion 400

LaneSiders

So, I posted some pictures of my forge in the "Show me your forge" thread. I am new to this little obsession and am looking for some tips here and there. In this particular case I have a question about attaching my blower. It's the image below, a Champion 400 that works great. I bought it, a couple cross peen hammers, and the former owner's excessively large fire pot for $100. The fire pot is far too large for me at the moment (it's a hub of some sort off of an old tractor trailer) so I made my own brake drum forge. At the moment I have a hair dryer attached as shown in the other picture below. However, I am trying to figure out how to attach the 400 because I have learned it will work wonderfully. My current tuyere is made from 2inch (internal diameter) formerly galvanized pipe and fittings with the hair dryer attached as shown. The 400 has a roughly 3 inch exit and my piping is slightly larger than 2 inches externally. Anyone have suggestions for the best way to get air from one end to the other? Thanks in advance.

IMG_20200926_043347188.jpg

IMG_20200919_043649715.jpg

IMG_20200919_043627501.jpg

Just a note of caution. If you plan on sticking with anthracite (in another thread I believe), it needs a constant air flow. An anthracite fire can go out using a While not cranking the hand blow during an extended period at the anvil. I have seen hand blowers with electric blowers attached to keep a small flow going while at the anvil.

David