I Forge Iron

Demascus question

Reasonable for what: knife fittings or knife blades?  What is your reasonable---good strength and edge holding?  Good colour differentiation when etched?  Cheapness?

For playing around I like to start with 20-25 layer billets of bandsaw blades and pallet strapping---the pallet strapping that snaps when tested by heat and quench and tap with a hammer.   Where are you that there are no pallets or bandsaws? The bandsaw blades tend to have a nice nickel content for differentiation.

Sorry, for knife blades I was thinking for differentiation. I figured those metals would be fine for edge and hardness but I am new to this. Pallet strapping and band saw blades that's rad. I had no idea thought I had to order new stock to get the metals needed for demascus

Not knowing what country of the 100+ that participate here makes it hard to suggest easily found steels.

Here in the USA 15N20 and 1084 is almost a standard for make good edges and good etches and many of my friends order through the NJ Steel Baron or even buy in person at Quad-State. In your country---who knows!

However I use the BSB&PS billets for teaching. Important to size them for your forge. Starting out it's nice to be able to get the entire billet to welding heat at the same time.  Also wire the billet to allow for the outer layers to expand during heating.  If you can weld a handle to one end and tack weld that end, and wire the other end---baling wire or rebar tie wire is what I use.   I weld using 20 Mule Team Borax and Roach Pruf (cheap boric acid) about 4:1 as flux.