I Forge Iron

Is this 160# fisher anvil worth the asking price?

First of all I’m new to blacksmithing and I’m new to this forum. Thanks for having me. I’ve been planning on getting a forge and all the tools to get started smithing for quite some time now and one thing I underestimated more than anything was the price of an anvil. I can see that this anvil doesn’t have the best edges and it has a good ding or chip in the face. It also looks like it might have a couple spots where someone filled a couple dents. It might just be the picture. I’m going to message him tomorrow to verify and maybe haggle. I know fisher makes good anvils and if it was more perfect I would probably pay the price. But if you guys think The amount of damage on this anvil will make me regret buying it then then I’m just going to buy a new NC anvil for the same price or slightly cheaper. I know an NC anvil isn’t the best but at this point I want to get started forging knives and tomahawks and I wanted you to know if it’s not this than it’s an NC.

anvil wa 1.jpg

anvil wa2.jpg

anvil wa3.jpg

anvil wa4.jpg

I would not buy it myself. The edges looked to have been welded on and it appears the heel is broken off as there is no hardy or pritchel hole. Just my take on it. Someone with more knowledge than me will chime in I'm sure.

You do realize that the price of an anvil is the cost of a heavy piece of scrap steel right?  (At my local scrap yard that's 20 UScents a pound.) The London pattern anvil design is around 300 years old, a large block of metal has been used for anvils for 3000 years!  Take a look at what Japanese swordsmiths use as an anvil  (National Geographic's "Living Treasures of Japan" has a section on a master sword smith and can be found on the Y'tube.)  Seeing the work they do on a "block" anvil explain why you think you need a London Pattern anvil that costs so much!