I Forge Iron

First new anvil ?

Jon108

Hi everyone,

I am looking at a new Peddinghaus #5 anvil. 
I am a beginner at forging, and have about 6 years at stick welding. 
I have a few chunks of H13 and several pieces of Rail track. 
I also have 3 post leg vices, and have done hex head stainless 304 on the anvil jaw  

I am now looking for an anvil that will make it easier to do forging  

The size and weight of the #5 suits my needs for portability  

Any advice would be very much appreciated  

Thanks,

Jon

Dear Jon,

First, please put your location in profile and read "read this first" in the upper banner.  It will give you a better idea of what to expect from I forge Iron and will enable the rest of us to give you better advice and comments.

Second, my personal opinion is that a 77 pound anvil is on the light side for general work but if you are only doing smaller work it may be OK, particularly if it is securely attached to a heavy base.  the general rule of thumb is that about 100 pounds is the minimum size for general smithing work.  For the cost of a new Peddinghaus (and fine anvils they are) plus shipping you may be able to find a larger used anvil locally.  But, it is your call and judgement of what you need and how much you can afford.

Portability is subjective and depends if you are having to move the anvil a few tens of feet from your garage to a patio for use or having to horse it around into your vehicle.  For short distances a dolly is very handy and can make a larger anvil feasible.  If you are having to pick it up in your arms that is another story.

"By hammer and hand all arts do stand."