I Forge Iron

Kanca, Emerson, NC anvils. Help.

Hi everyone, I've going to be purchasing a anvil. I've been reading up on three particular ones.

• The Kanca 110 lbs. Drop Forged Double Horn Anvil
  • Emerson 100 lb. Traditional Anvil
  • NC 112 lbs. Cavalry Anvil

I'm going to be using said anvil for knife and axe head making. I'm not sure which to go with. I'm fairly new to all of this. I've done a lot of reading and my brain has pretty much gone to mush. I just found out about iforge. So I figured why not ask people with experience. I'm really looking forward to your help, pros and cons and just all around feedback.

If you are up for more reading, use your favorite search engine like google and do a search like this without the quote marks "Kanca anvil site:iforgeiron.com" . Do that for all three you are considering and you will see many threads about them (some of the older threads will have lost pictures though) still good reading.

I'm in Texas also. Welcome aboard. I have the Emerson 100lb. Traditional. It actually weighs 105 lbs. I did a LOT of research and I read up on all the ones you mentioned. I've been using mine for nearly a year now. The only thing I don't like about it is the lettering on the side stands proud of the anvil and close to the face. If I'm working over that side, I have to be careful or I'll hit the lettering and mar my work. To fix that, I could grind them down, which I'm not inclined to do. However, it's also because I work with the horn oriented to my right. If I were to point it the left, that wouldn't be a problem at all. It also will come with mill marks that are pretty visible on the face and horn. I sanded it some, but they don't affect the smoothness of my work and it's been work hardened in the areas that I use the most so it's smoothing out on its own. The only other thing is I wish I could have afforded a heavier one. Not trying to sway you away from the other ones. Just a little review. Hope it helps and happy hunting