I Forge Iron

Tool steel anvil

Hey guys.  I just wanted to pick your brains about anvil steel.  Any thoughts on a hardened A-2 or D-2 (50-53 Rc).  I am a toolmaker by trade and could build a nice anvil from leftover materials.  Just curious if anyone had tried before?  We usually harden to 58-62 Rc but could draw back to make less brittle.  Anvils are expensive so maybe I could build a nice one cheaper with my access to surface grinders and CNC Mills.  Just not sure about material.  Any input appreciated.  I won't take offense if you think this is a bone-head idea, LOL!

My questions:

1) select a big  block of steel  (lets suppose 150 kg of steel) and by stock removal, carve an anvil out of it?

2) carve the different components of the anvil and then weld it together?

3) use a simple block of steel, weld to it an horn and an hardy hole?

These are the anvils I built at home using scrap materials with a forge, hammers, an arc welder and angle grinders (No CNC mill, no surface grinder...I'll get there one day...)

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=mLsgFjkBQtg

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=lSpXA0b33Fg

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=d1-gk6W5Qrs

Now I am building a stake anvil with a top plate hardenable steel. I am experimenting on building anvils at home and I always try a different method. I made several mistakes during my anvil building, if you decide that you really want to build an anvil by yourself, I am willing to tell you what not to do.

https://www.iforgeiron.com/topic/65389-heat-treat-anvil-top-plate/

I followed the instructions from very knowledgeable people here in the forum and you may notice all welds full penetration welds...hours and hours welding, kg after kg of electrodes...

You may want to see this thread, get some ideas probably you can forge for some time with a simple block of steel, learn what you want to do in blacksmithing and only then build your own anvil. 

https://www.iforgeiron.com/topic/52308-a-collection-of-improvised-anvils/