I Forge Iron

Annealing old tool steel

I've read that you should never hammer hardened steel, even if it's hot.  I'm just starting out and plan on using a lot of old scrap.  I got my hands on some old auto scrap, and I'll be keeping an eye out for old/broken tools.  

Should I be annealing everything before beating on it?  I never see that in YouTube videos but I didn't know if that's just something that gets glossed over.

From a 1972 F100.  Got two full leaf springs, 2 coils, and what I'm pretty sure is part of the steering assembly, along with various other trash.  A guy was doing a full restoration and let me have it for free as long as I took everything.

You are aware that if you are wanting to make blades from automotive springs you want ones with the *least* number of miles on them as you can get as fatigue cracks may be present in springs with a lot of use on them..  A lot less work is lost if you are just making tooling from them.

Some of us probably bought vehicles like that "new" and a fellow posted about forging a drawknife from a model T spring recently. (I've never owned a '72; but I have owned a '64 and two '68's...)

11 minutes ago, ThomasPowers said:

You are aware that if you are wanting to make blades from automotive springs you want ones with the *least* number of miles on them as you can get as fatigue cracks may be present in springs with a lot of use on them..  A lot less work is lost if you are just making tooling from them.

Yes, I'll probably make some (very ugly) knives but nothing that I expect to use or would be upset to lose.  I'm brand new so everything is just another opportunity to learn.

14 minutes ago, Steve Sells said:

none of that is tool steel

I know, but I already have an old socket wrench extension that sheared off, and I'm sure i'm going to find some old wrenches and hammers when I start digging around the barn.

Actually most steel tools are made from medium carbon steel and not "tool steel".