I Forge Iron

How much would a slightly more outlandish commission typically cost?

ParagonBlade

I'm an aspiring writer, and I have plans to write a story about fantasy swordsmanship, meaning that realism and effectiveness in a real life setting are unimportant. However, I am curious how effective the legendary sword I have in mind would be if used by a normal person, so I wanted to commission it from someone.

The concept is a sword with three configurations. It can either be a double-edged longsword, two single-edged longswords for dual wield or a double-bladed sword. You can switch between these configurations on the fly. The single longsword has a crack down the middle, so you can pull them apart into the single-edged dual wield form. From the dual wield form, you can either fuse the swords back together into single-sword mode along their entire lengths just by reuniting them, or you can fuse the pommels together to create a double-bladed sword. All transformations are reversable, and the two swords can be reunited simply by touching them together because magic.

Now to me, this type of weapon would have the same issue as whip swords. Structural integrity would be pretty flawed due to the crack that allows for the sword's main function. Any experienced sword enthusiasts know if this is the case? And do any blacksmiths know how much it would cost me to comission that, either as a wallhang or a legit sparring tool, depending on what sword enthusiasts say?

Welcome aboard Paragon, glad to have you. If you put your general location in the header you might have someone within visiting distance that can show you some things maybe even be talked into building the thing for you. 

Two points about writing a fantasy: #1, A heroic blade can only be wielded by a heroic character. #2, Get the term CRACK out of your head and terminology, cracks are failures in the material used, whatever it is. In a sword it's a catastrophic failure.