I Forge Iron

Using Casters for Effective Use of Space

JHCC

I'm a hobbyist working out of my garage, and my gear has rapidly outgrown the space I have available. In recent months, I've put my gas forge, my hydraulic press, my 2x90 pedestal grinder, my hydraulic press (aka The Pressciouss), my horizontal bandsaw, my chopsaw, and my quenching oil tank on casters, so that I can fit everything into a much smaller space when it's not in use. My coal forge, tool racks,  anvil (with its treadle hammer), and vise stand are not on casters (especially since the latter two need to be as immobile as possible), but I'm thinking of putting the coal forge on casters as well.

Here it is all packed away:

5F7A6D5D-0CEE-4D48-9BA8-386C765D02E4.jpeg

And here it is set up for forging (with the two saws and the grinder behind me and the quench tank moved to the driveway):

FA34AF1D-C633-4892-8321-145E3B03E1A2.jpeg

(I'll try to get a few more photos from different angles to give a better idea of how this works.)

It's amazing what a difference it makes being able to expand your workspace quickly and easily. At one point today, I needed to be able to get quickly from the forge to the oil tank out in the driveway for a quench, so I pushed The Pressciouss out of the way and moved the gasser closer to the door. Cut the number of steps from the front of the forge to the quench in half.

Very good 'movement', I have put the F&F Tumulus casting, welding and ceramic equipment on 'rolls' or transport carts from the very beginning. Partly due to a lack of space in our workshop.