I Forge Iron

My new forge

Toolart

Hello all. I'm new to this just had the sudden desire to start metal working. Can't really explain that... so I bought a welder built a forge, anvil(cheap happybuy for now). I'd like to start by fabricating some blacksmith tools.  See were it goes.

20190625_200914.jpg

20190717_213252.jpg

20190716_191525.jpg

I warn my students about not bending their head THROUGH the dragon's breath and once lost some facial hair helping a smith get their new to them propane forge working correctly. It wasn't tuned even close and wasn't putting out much heat. As their tank was down below the entrance I suddenly got a full blast of exhaust out of it when I hit the right fuel pressure/air mix.

Thanks Steve S. Good advise. I only use the forge outside and store the tank outdoors as well. I would hurt to get an extension and keep the tank away from the forge.

9 minutes ago, Irondragon Forge & Clay said:

Welcome Toolart, have you read this yet? READ THIS FIRST

It will help you get the best out of the forum.

Thank. I have read.

58 minutes ago, ThomasPowers said:

I warn my students about not bending their head THROUGH the dragon's breath and once lost some facial hair helping a smith get their new to them propane forge working correctly. It wasn't tuned even close and wasn't putting out much heat. As their tank was down below the entrance I suddenly got a full blast of exhaust out of it when I hit the right fuel pressure/air mix.

Thomas. This photo was take with a lower pressure regulator. I have since changed to a high pressure regulator and a smaller oriface. The result was a hoter forge and much less flame out side the forge. That said. I try to be vigilant of the flames and fumes coming out. Thanks for the good advise.

47 minutes ago, Toolart said:

I have read.