I Forge Iron

Leather handle

MangoSmith

I have an old blacksmithing hammer my great grandfather had used a long time ago.

I'm removing the rust, and i want to add a nice leather handle to it. 

Bad thing is, its oddly shaped. Similar to a scythe. Its a straight peen hammer, probably 50 to 60 years old. The hammer is fully steel, and its been used quite a bit (so much that the hammer head has been rounded and the peen too). The handle is by far the strangest. Its connected like how an axe handle is to the head, but its somehow extremely tight on there (idk how they out it on, but it won't come off anytime soon). The handle itself is fully metallic, with this S like shape to it, similar to a scythe's handle.

I'm going to use it as a very nice blacksmithing hammer, for jobs that need a lot of heft. Its gotta be around 20 pounds at least, and its either iron or rusted steel (idk if steel rusts... I'm new at forging lol). 

This being the case, i want a nice and sturdy leather handle, to reduce shock and to just make it look alot nicer. 

What kind of leather and adhesive should i use, and how should i wrap it???

Can you post some pictures of the hammer, that will give a better idea as to how to go about putting a leather grip onto it.

Some steels rust more than others depending on the composition, even stainless steels can rust, it just depends on the conditions they are subjected to.

I've heat shrunk a warhammer head onto a steel shaft and it's demolished quite a bit as we were testing it with no loosening of the shaft.

Out here they often weld steel pipe to hammer heads.  Terrible on the arms and on the hammerhead, but poor folks have poor ways.

We really need pictures your description is not sufficient, for example will this be a threaded disk handle like is used by estwing tools nowadays, or are you talking about leather slabs applied to the side, or a leather strip wound round the handle?