I Forge Iron

Commercialy manufactured propane forges

icandry

Maybe there is a thread on this topic in this very large web site. Being spanking new to this site, I can't find that thread.  OK guys be gentle, I am completely new to the forging and stock removal methods in knife making. Building a propane forge is out of the realm of possibilities. I have been using a coal forge,  a forged steel anvil and a Little Giant 25lb power hammer in my shop for about 2 years. I am setting up a KMG in the shop at present. That being said, I am in the market for a commercially produced 2 burner propane forge. The budget is $500 including shipping. I have looked at the Diamondback and the Majestic. Any recommendations.

Note that without a location we have to assume your complete budget will go for international shipping. 150 countries participate here on this forum on the World WIde Web!

Will you be using it for forge welding?

As for it building being out of the realm---I built my first 2 taking  propane forge building workshops put on by an ABANA affiliate near me.  It's about time to rebuild one of them, over 15 years and lots of lining replacements...

Still learning the rules and the important manners. I live in Mount Pleasant, Texas. The house is about two hours east of Dallas near I-30.  I might be considered an advanced beginner blacksmith. I can forge the elementary, like chisels, punches, hooks, hammer, and a Swedish axe with welded steel bit. I am a member of Four States Iron Munchers, an ABANA affiliate, headquartered just west of Texarkana, Texas.

Edited by icandry
wrong direction

I have wanted to see a commercial forge thread on here, but that's a little tricky; okay it's a LOT tricky! In the meantime, the short answer for you is Diamond back; it's dependable and plenty hot enough. You see, the problem is that to narrow your answer down any further would take almost as much of a learning curve as building the forge would; sorry :unsure: