I Forge Iron

Henry wright 206...help

A gentleman has this listed pretty close to me, when I talked to him on the phone he admitted that he wasnt a smith but had googled and this is a "rare" maker.  Hes asking $750.  That seems high to me for the condition but I'm a newbie so I'm looking for all y'alls expertise and guidence.  What would you offer or would you just walk away, I haven't seen it in person yet, kinda wanted to get knowledged up here first.

Thanks,

Jake S.

00S0S_4PG86dggu2z_600x450.jpg

00p0p_kNM5ZPSVZUB_600x450.jpg

00a0a_iivWhMYRMVu_600x450.jpg

00h0h_6nY5xDJ59Ib_600x450.jpg

00q0q_lW9UubzoHM1_600x450.jpg

00P0P_cJLhyoAtfkG_1200x900.jpg

$3.64/ lb. Is up there in my opinion for used. Still under new pricing. 

It does "look" like a usable anvil, pending a rebound test. 

Collectors of rare want rare and minty,and will pay for it. Buying used to use is another thing. Price and pay accordingly. Always remember just buying an anvil to use does not mean Having to buy a london pattern. An improvised anvil can be inexpensive if not free. 

At least he hasn't tried to "repair it!" It's a nice shop size though you don't need one that heavy to learn on. I rarely use my 206 lb. Trenton over my 125 lb. Soderfors. Size is second if that to condition. 

That one is rough though you have one decent edge and the face isn't too beat up. The rounded edge is probably the result of striker work on that side.