I Forge Iron

Forge welding butchered metal

Just starting making axes. Having trouble keeping the eye straight. I have a power hammer. Thinking about getting a hydraulic press for more control. I work without a striker. Some say start the eye by drilling 2-3 small holes as a guide for the punch. Any other suggestions ? 

Good Morning, Pop

Welcome to our world.

Take your time setting up, drill 2 or 3, 3/16-1/4" pilot holes, first. Doing this keeps your punch/drift in the path of least resistance, following the drilled holes on center. It takes less time to be patient with the layout, than chasing a crooked hole. You can move the hole sideways by quenching one cheek, when punching/drifting. Less haste, more speed.

Neil

• 2 weeks later...

Okay I'm a noob and no where near the skill to make an axe or hammer yet (I'm gonna start trying soon though).  

But would the method you are referring to have something to do with a (kind of) fold, welding everywhere but where the eye will be, and then drifting?

I was looking some axes over awhile back and wondered if they could be done this way.  I'm not completely up to speed on all the lingo so I hope I made some sense...

Right now they're talking about punching and drifting a hammer eye.

A folded and welded axe head is traditional and a lot easier than punching and drifting the eye straight. This lets you choose what steel to use for the bit so heat management is less critical during forging. The big issue is making a large lap weld well. Welding the higher carbon steel bit is the easy part. 

Frosty The Lucky.

Thanks to all for the good ideas and tips. I am aware of the folding and welding method and have used it, but prefer to punch the eye. I'm probably 5-6 messed up blanks away from getting it right. I'm having some special punches and drifts made for a hydraulic press. I think that will help with the alignment. 

On 1/30/2019 at 8:34 PM, Iron Pop 1 said: