I Forge Iron

wanting to make a knife!!!Please help

jsanders

I've been wanting to make my own knives for quite a while but I have been having trouble getting started. I'm new to all of this so I don't know a whole lot. I've been trying to find some steel in my area (Springfield/Bolivar Mo) but I can't seem to find anyone that has anything. Do you guys have any suggestions on how I could get started? I'd really like to get this thing rolling. Any and all help will be greatly appreciated.
Thanks,
Jon

You'll need to give us some more info, what method are you looking to do, stock removal or forging, do you have any tooling, forge, anvil, grinder, etc? What kind and how much experience do you have working with metal.
These are things we would need to know to help get you going in the right direction also there is tons of info on here, you could spend days reading this site which is a good idea, there are also lots of good books on the subject as well as schools depending on how serious you want to get.

welder19

Hi there Jon. Welcome to the addicting world of metalmangling!

Probably your best start is to look at the lessons here. Start with lesson 2: safety. Once you've read all the other lessons, read it again.

What aspect of knifemaking are you interested in? There are basiclaly 2 approaches: forging and stock removal. Forging involves fire, hammers, an anvil and sweat. Stock removal is basically taking a piece of metal and grinding away everything that is not knife.

Steel can be had from many sources. If you're willing to go down the scrap route, springs, files and the like are classic sources. Try your local mechanic, scrapyard, junkshop etc. You can buy a wide variety of steels from online retailers, like Speedy Metals, Admiral Steel etc.