I Forge Iron

Popping in the forge? gas related

OriginalPancake

Hi all! I quickly progressed from coal to gas in a matter of trying coal once. :P we dont agree. Anyrate. Disclaimer: I am 99% self taught so..I followed the plans laid out by a youtuber i made a gas forge and burners out of an old propane tank and some pipe. (https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=jiSgR-IJMyk) I am quite proud of myself i learned how to stick weld also. After a couple of small projects (simple tons, knife and Kukhri) im getting more comfortable really cranking the heat. I have since then got a fire brick to go inside and i stack on the backside of the forge. I am running a 30 psi regulator. Being said when i light the forge i steadly increase the gas, when i hear popping i increase it more. At one point just recently i was unable to increase my gas flow and i kept hearing the popping. A couple questions: What do i need to do to stop this? get a higher regulator? I assume my forge was too hot? I also assume if i continue to let the popping happen that is bad? Thanks in advance.

forge update.jpg

forge.jpg

On 3 of 4 my propane forges it means that one of the gas jets is not aligned perfectly with the axis of the mixing tube.  Turning the pressure up is only a "patch" and not a fix. (the 4th is a blown burner and so doesn't have that issue.)

BTW shouldn't you be asking the person who provided the directions you followed?

• 1 year later...
  • 1 year later...
On 12/15/2018 at 11:59 AM, ThomasPowers said:

On 3 of 4 my propane forges it means that one of the gas jets is not aligned perfectly with the axis of the mixing tube.  Turning the pressure up is only a "patch" and not a fix. (the 4th is a blown burner and so doesn't have that issue.)

How do you fix this i am having this problem too.