I Forge Iron

Blade broke, don't know why

weissleo28

Hi,

I'm fairly new to blacksmithing and I don't know where I went wrong, but today I broke my blade. I was flattening the handle of a drop forged wrench, and I put it in the forge. It's bituminous coal and I use a hair dryer attached to a pipe as an air source. It gets the metal orange-white hot. I took it out after 5-6 minutes and I noticed a chip out of the blade, it was the spine so I dismissed it. But as I started pounding, a crack appeared that ran next to the chip from the spine to the side that the edge was going to be on. I don't know where I went wrong, but I have a few therioes. The first is that, since I didn't brush the blade each time before I pounded, that I pushed some of those chips that fly off into the blade. Another theory is that I left it in the forge for too long and it got too soft. A third is that, instead of just pounding it into a blade shape and then trying to get it longer, I should've pounded it into a long, rectangular shape, like a piece of barstock looks, then formed the blade shape. Sorry for such a long post, I am just angry that I broke my blade and I dont know why it happened, and I don't want to do it again. Any help would be appreciated, Thanks!

Seeing as you are forging a (drop forged wrench) you have a piece of unknown tool steel most tool steel alloys have spacific tempature ranges they need to be forged at or they may crack, suffer from excess grain growth ...... wothout knowing the alloy involved it is hard to say if you worked it too hot or too cold. 

Hammering scale into the surface makes it ugly but dosent usally lead to cracking( but it could in theroy)

if you are a beginner and you really want to make a knife i would suggest working with a source of known toolsteel. 10xx sieries is more forgiving than most as is 5160 small bars of both can be found realatively cheap.

du

Good Morning Leo,