I Forge Iron

Material for anvil stand

Hello! I'm still very new to I forge iron. I recently just finished building my first forge and I completely forgot about a stand for my anvil. I actually bought my anvil from a craiglist deal for almost nothing. Not sure if it's any good but I'm sure it's better than not having one. I read multiple articles about stand design and I'm just gonna keep it simple and try and make something from home depot. I was wondering if you guys had any suggestions for materials. Thinking of just buying some wood and make something this weekend. Also if you guys have any suggestions about my anvil I would also appreciate that. 

Thanks! 

15331784379584284145230011517810.jpg

15331784709483499604266395333948.jpg

• Replies 97
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

Well, the good news is that you didn’t pay much more than it’s worth.

My suggestion would be to ditch this and get yourself a real anvil — that is to say, something that you can actually forge on. That does NOT mean that you have to spend a ton of money on a London-pattern anvil; check out the Improvised Anvils thread for some inspiration. 

There is a whole thread on anvil stands that if very helpful:

I learned a lot from reading it and I wouldn't go to Home Depot until you read through it.