I Forge Iron

Tool rack on wheels

Newbie here. Like many I have to squeeze my blacksmithing stuff in with all the other the detritus of life that ends up in my garage/workshop. I’ve not been forging long, but got frustrated looking for the hammer I put down somewhere 10 seconds ago and the tongs that disappeared from my hand seconds earlier. So I wanted one place to order them, and it needed to move.  This is it so far (don’t look at the crappy welds). I’ll probably build a shelf on the back of it for punches and stuff. 0014E102-85DC-4B50-966C-62E75ACB029C.thumb.jpeg.6591c05f45d9919c1718efc344f96a13.jpeg

Ultimately, whatever helps YOU be at your most efficient is therefore a winner.  For me, I’ve found that The Pareto Principle is close to true - I use approx 15-20% of my tools roughly 80-85% of the time (could be closer to 90-10 in truth). THOSE are the tools I keep readil at hand & available. Building new units (like you’ve done, to solve a problem in a way that works for you) is not something I am fond of, as it adds one more footprint on the shop floor - or rather, leaves me with that much less working space - something I don’t have an unlimited supply of. My efficiencies typically go vertical, or combine multiple pieces in order to achieve multiple functionalities (eg, wrapping my anvil log with leather to hold my hammers, tongs, etc - loads of pix like this in the anvil section).  

Glad it works for you. I love seeing photos of shop solutions. 

Cheers,

Mike