I Forge Iron

Bearded axe from claw hammer

I have an old claw hammer that I’d like to try and make into a bearded hatchet. I’m a bit confused, however, on how to control the direction the metal spreads to. I’d like for it to mostly draw out to what will be the bottom of the hatchet but how can I control that? I’m fairly new to forging so I’m sorry if this is a simple matter. 

Welcome to IFI! If you haven't yet, please READ THIS FIRST!!!

There are a number of really good threads about drawing out and controlling the movement of the metal. I would suggest taking a look at those first and figuring out how the principles apply to your situation. You can also make a model of your hammerhead in plasticine and practice moving the material with that; the clay moves very much like hot metal (just don't hit it as hard).

Jhcc thanks for the link! I’ll look through it first. I tried searching for some info but I got a little lost

thomas I’ve just acquired a cross peen and plan on slightly rounding the flat face. I’ve also gotta clean up the peen since I found it in a scrap pile at work (the handle was broken and it was easier for the company to buy a new hammer for the employee)

Steve. Thanks! I was unaware there were different sections for different projects. I’ll keep that in mind and also try to figure out how to make posts in specific groups. I aplologise for any inconvenience I may have caused. I know forums get flooded easily and appreciate and respect organization. As I stated previously I just kinda got lost.