I Forge Iron

Returning home to Alaska in a few weeks.

I am moving back home to Alaska after 15 years, this coming month. Bringing my blacksmithing stuff with me. I sadly will not get to do much blacksmithing for a while though, as only own raw land up there. So when I get there, getting a roof over my head will be a vastly higher priority then pretty much anything else, hopefully I can build a house mostly myself, with some help of my roommate, before winter comes. I will have enough money for all the materials to build a house, just not enough money to pay someone to build one for me.

I am only a beginner in blacksmithing, but I am really looking forward to trying to attempt to at least partially make a living doing it when I get to Alaska. Though will be also trying other crafting, such as woodworking. Not sure what all I will do, will try to find a gap in the market somewhere and see if I can help fill it.

I am moving east of Palmer, up the Knik River valley. 

Will be joining in any Blacksmithing and other such groups as time allows this year.

Kevin

Crazy Bear Forge

Kevin: Not thinking small I see. Do you have the lot picked out? How far up the Knik R. valley? Prospects for a paycheck job? While I think most everybody getting into blacksmithing would like to make a living at it, very few do. Ferriers tend to be as close as it comes in the beginning, shoeing pays well and is a specialty of the blacksmith's craft its hard on knees and backs though. I also don't know any ferriers who have been at it few years who don't want to get into ornamental or architectural blacksmithing as a trade. Knees and backs again.

I'm not trying to discourage you but it's a tough row to hoe. Give me a shout when you get here and I'll introduce you to the club. Next meeting is May 12th. in Palmer. 

I cleared the land, made the grade and built our house. It was a lot of fun and we get to live with the mistakes, some provided by a "professional" builder. Don't try to cheap out.