I Forge Iron

New Forge

mpc

So... I was going to build a forge and had the stuff to make some t-burners but a deal popped up on a classified page that got me a working forge, 2 propane tanks, & the reg for less than the sum of the parts. 

Suggestions for evaluation and tuning of a new forge?

E1A9CB19-855D-45AE-8887-81D6C974F0E0.jpeg

Good looking find!

I'm no forge expert, but my first concern would be making sure that there are no leaks in the gas lines, that the hoses are in good shape, and that there is no exposed unrigidized ceramic fiber (particles of that stuff can get into your lungs and make you very, very sick). If there's no IR reflecting coating on the inside, you might also want to think about adding that to improve the forge's efficiency.

People who know a lot more about this than I do should be along shortly.

Also, welcome to IFI! If you haven't yet, please READ THIS FIRST!

Suggestions? More pictures - showing the inside when it's not lit, and the burner flames when it is lit. Then we could see what you have and if it needs anything done.

From just looking at the one pic, I'd say get a couple of bricks to put on that front porch (maybe extend the sides of the porch or add angle iron to help hold the bricks) to slide side to side to cover that big opening. If that's ceramic blanket I'm seeing inside, make sure it's rigidized. Then I'd add another 1" of ceramic blanket, rigidize that, slather a 1/2" of kastolite 30 over that, then paint on some matrikote. But that's just guessing from the view of the one pic.

18 hours ago, Irondragon Forge & Clay said:

Looks like a very well constructed forge to me. What make is it?

BTW: What did you decide on the anvil you were looking at?

It was a DIY by a guy in Utah. 

I didn’t buy the anvil. I’ve got a chunk of RR track for now. 

16 hours ago, John in Oly, WA said: