I Forge Iron

Hello from Colorado

ShortMagPirate

Hi. I'm pretty new to metalworking, I've done a little welding and basic stuff but but have always wanted to make knives and other things... finally getting things together to build a forge and jump in with both feet. I've got some scrap steel for the forge parts and a few designs in my head, so hopefully between my hairbrained ideas and some good info here I can put something together that will work.

I'm looking forward to learning how to set things up and get started... I have a few odds and ends, wrenches, hammer heads, rebar, and other scrap steel to get started with.

I also have an small stash of stainless pipe that I would like to make use of.. it's about 1" pipe, with maybe 3/16 thick walls,  in about 36" sticks. I have no idea what it is other than stainless... it was scrap from a job a couple of years ago, cut-offs from some stainless light posts. Would this be usable for anything? I'm guessing it would have to be fluxed and welded to make bars out of the pipe, but I have no idea how that would work. 

Welcome aboard, ShortMagPirate! If you haven't already, please READ THIS FIRST!

Lots of really good information here for smiths at all levels. Please read the pinned posts at the top of the Bladesmithing and Forge sections to get started on the right path.

As for your SS pipe, hold onto it for now. That's an unusual stock, and you want to get some more experience and skill under your belt before you tackle it. Don't worry: it won't spoil.

Welcome aboard. 

What type of forge are you planning to build?

if working with scrap please read through the safety section. Well, should do that any way :) there were things I didn't know about when I started as in not putting chromed or galvanized stuff in the forge. 

Forging stainless pipe into bar is probably not something for beginners but you may be able to fit some of the pipe and straighten/ flatten it for some use. Lots of work tho.