I Forge Iron

Hello from Worcester, Mass!

JoeMogul

Hello! I'm Joe, and I'm pretty new to art, having only been involved for the last couple of months. I recently left a full time job to go back to school, during which time a friend who has a backyard forge invited me over to do some blacksmithing. I loved it to the point that I wound up purchasing an old anvil, built a small coal forge, and have been setting up a little smithy in my garage. I'm a full time University student, and working part time on campus, but I'm still finding time to learn as much as I can about blacksmithing and bladesmithing.

Having worked in construction in my teens and early twenties, I got used to learning through OJT and learning from my lumps when I screwed-up.

I've done a bit of martial arts and HEMA, which prompted my interest is in bladesmithing, and I've already made several knives and one axe head (which I botched... failure is there to learn from I guess).

I've already started going through all the old threads, and want to learn as much as I can about the craft.

Thanks for reading my intro!

Welcome aboard Joe, glad to have you. You can take your lumps eh> Good blacksmithing can get lumpy. :o Learning from your mistakes is good but we have a different philosophy, we think learning from somebody else's mistakes is WAY better. Fewer problems in life if you let someone else take the lumps. Hmmm? ;)

So far you've discovered blacksmithing is:

Addictive. . . . Check

Fun. . . . Check.

It can get pretty expensive? 

Requires room to keep all the treasures and resources you keep bringing home?

Oh, there're more but that's enough for a first day.

Frosty The Lucky.