I Forge Iron

Reproducing a temple iron

Hi everyone, before we go on I'm new to black smithing and working with steel also but really love it. It's something I do with my 13 year old son so we hang together. Whaling is part of our history from the 1900s when the American whalers passed thru Norfolk Island. We are the only country outside the u.s who celebrate thanksgiving day as a national holiday. So, my question on the thread is we were going to reproduce a temple iron and make the barb from an old vehicle leaf spring. Am I on the right track if should u be looking for a different piece to use? Do we 'heat and bang' as we've been doing with mild steel? Thanks in advance 

Mod Note: Thread retitled 

Hi jhcc. I'm guessing a toggle. It's the bottom one in the image. These are actual temple irons used in whaling here. When it went into the whale it and was drawn back it opened to form a 't' inside the animal. So we're clear we don't agree with whaling of any kind but these are part of our history. Thanks again 

IMG_2266.JPG

Gotcha. Well, that makes things a bit easier, since you don't have to worry about forge welding a piece of tool steel onto a mild steel or wrought iron shaft.

I'd suggest reading the sections on knifemaking and axes, hatchets, and hawks for inspiration on making what is essentially a short, thick, grooved, unhandled blade. Leaf spring should work fine, so long as (A) you have enough thickness and (B) there aren't any hidden stress cracks. 

I had the chance to examine one of these that was in very good shape at an auction one time. It was of unknown origin and vintage but I was suprised at the strength and flexibility of the steel shaft. It appeared to me to be some kind of spring steel as well. Very tough but with some give.

23 minutes ago, Mtnstream said: