I Forge Iron

Is a basement forge ever okay?

First post. I am just getting into the hobby and am thinking about how to best set up my work space. I know a major concern is ventilation and I have read some of threads about forging indoors and the potential hazards. 

My question, is it ever be feasible to have a basement set up and would I just be asking for trouble trying to forge indoors? The only reason I am considering this is because I have a well functioning basement fireplace, and I wondered if I could use that to vent gases from a 2-burner propane forge. 

My basement specs:

-Hearth and fireplace, flue in good condition have had roaring fires in winter with no issues

-Multiple block glass windows with sections that can be opened for ventilation

-Multiple CO detectors in the house, one of which gives a PPM readout

-Drafty 1920's construction

-Concrete floor and tiled concrete walls

-HVAC return air is blocked off, but HVAC constantly blows new air into basement

-Have the ability to create positive pressure with blowers motors that pull fresh air through basement windows. 

My thinking, was to just test it out with a few  different venting set ups and see what  PPM CO readings I got. 

Interested in your opinions if the windows and fireplace might make this a feasible option or if it's just a bad idea. 

You could make a hood to capture exhaust gasses and with forced ventilation push them out the chimney.

You would of course have to do this correctly which may be expensive.  Have you though of using an induction forge that doesn't burn a carbon containing fuel?   Have you thought of using a microforge during cold months where the chimney would provide adequate venting?

• 2 months later...