I Forge Iron

New to the Forum and the trade

Mule1976

Greetings all!

I'm a newbie to the forum and blacksmithing. I recently started learning the trade in early November. I'm also a member of the Florida Artist Blacksmith Association.

I look forward to learning more about the trade and skills and meeting/talking with people of similar interests.

Thanks,

James

Thanks for the welcome.

I've always been interested in fabrication work and making things with my hands. I'd rather have something handmade than store bought. I'm fascinated with metallurgy and taking crude components and making them into something useful. I want to learn traditional techniques and  methods so that I may be able to pass what i've learned onto future generations, essentially keeping the spirit of blacksmithing alive.

My goal, primarily is to learn how to make bladed weapons and to branch out from there. I've already started practicing on rail road spikes, making three knives last weekend and already planning on bearded axes/tomahawks.

At this point, I'm without a gear or a forge, so I work out of the Dark Angel Forge & Armory in Pompano, Florida. That is where I took my introduction to blacksmithing course. I look forward to having a home forge, once I have house that will support such.

Welcome aboard James, glad to have you. This is a very addictive craft you've decided to dabble in. FUN though. :)

I have a couple old timer thoughts for you though. If you wish to forge blades my advice is to learn to forge THEN learn the other crafts needed to make blades. The crafts are: Fire and anvil, Heat treatment of tool steels, Grinding and polishing and last but not least fitting and finishing: wood, bone, horn, artificial, etc. furniture materials.