I Forge Iron

Wasting propane?

Derek Melton

I have a small, one burner propane forge that I've been using off and on for about 15 years.  Lately, as I've gotten deeper into blacksmithing work I've been perturbed by the amount of propane I believe I'm wasting.  I've started to turn the gas off as I reach to take the work out. Once the forge is up to heat, it will easily re-light itself with a quick turn on the tank knob and it doesn't seem that I lose too much heat. I'm curious, does anyone else forge in this manner? I know traditional coal forges conserve coal by simply lowering the air flow into the fire. I was tired of just burning propane while hammering and walking away from the forge. 

Turning off gas and letting it relight itself is not a safe practice. Years ago a man did the same thing on a gas appliance, and the flame started up and shot out of the appliance and he had no eyebrows for quite some time. I would suggest just turning the burner down if need be, but the keep fire going to conserve fuel, for safety's sake.

Work safe.

Not sure if this works for every style of smithing, but I had it drilled into me early that having the forge running without metal in it is a waste of fuel.  I usually start with 2 pieces in the fire and then alternate between them as I work... though I probably burn through more metal stock as a result so there's still a cost (though if I get the work done right at least I have another to sell/gift/use).

You can find diagrams for "Idle circuits" for the propane so you don't run your burner full blast all the time, the idle level flame helps keep it at forging temperature.

You don't really want to use the tank valve for this kind of thing, they're also slow if you have a propane fire where you don't want it. I put my burners on 1/4 turn ball valves, they shut off instantly and it's EASY to see in one is on or off when you open the tank valve.