I Forge Iron

I am working on repairing a Peter Wright anvil I have it is a wrought base with a tool steel plate, the edges are damaged.  I purchased some Stoody 1105 rod for facing it.  I will be preheating it to 400°F prior to welding.  I picked the anvil up cheap years ago, $50 or so at a farm auction.  Just seeing what I can do to fix her up.  I have almost 30 years experience as a welder fabricator, so I know the welding end of the game.  Black Frog posted this over on my forum http://www.anvilmag.com/smith/anvilres.htm and I am using this procedure.  Since none of the plate is worn away,  I did an acid etch.  I don't need the Stoody 2110.  I have plenty of 6010 for the table and horn repairs.

I leveled the feet by milling off a bit of material.  Yes I made sure the anvil was as plumb and square as possible in my vise first.  Also there is a ~3/16" twist to the waist of my anvil, not that it matters but was interesting to see.  I am posting a few of the pictures.

It is marked 1  1  19 so 159 out of the factory.  I weighed it a few years ago and got 155 lbs. IIRC.  I will weigh it again when I am done.  I will also be building a newer and better stand for it.  This one is not very stable and a bit high for my use, and I am 6' 2"

I know some will be horrified by the milling and welding...

IMG_5091.JPG

IMG_5096.JPG

IMG_5110.JPG

IMG_5118.JPG

IMG_4788 crop.jpg

IMG_4793.JPG

Eh, I welded up a 250lb Peter Wright that was a lot uglier than that one and it turned out fine. I think it's pretty common for people to tend to almost deify anvils as sacred objects that can't be touched. Personally, I'd rather see an old anvil be made useful again, rather than a lawn ornament. Best of luck to you!

7 minutes ago, Twilight Fenrir said: