I Forge Iron

Aspiring blacksmith need advice on forge build

MadsRC

I'm recently gotten the courage to start blacksmithing. Ideally I'd like to start making small stuff like nails and hangers, eventually upping my game to tools, knives and axes. While I'm new to blacksmithing, I'm not totally new to metalworking, as I've worked lathes and routers ("manual" and CNC controlled ones) many years ago.

I've decided on a wooden framed forge. I've attached a picture of the frame I've build. It's about 5cm (Sorry for not using Imperial, I'm Scandinavian) higher than my ideal anvil height. I plan on casting a refractory in the large open area. For reference, I've attached a picture of the forge that inspired me

Now, the area that I'm gonna cast the refractory in is 80x80x20cm with a center opening for a tuyere. I wasn't sure on the tuyere size, so I made sure the hole is large. The thing that troubles me is that I'm not sure what recipe to use for the refractory, as I'd like to avoid setting the wood on fire.

Could somebody advice me on the useable recipe?

The other thing I'm not sure about yet is the size of the "firepit". What would be an optimal size for a forge of this size?

Regarding the blower, I haven't decided on hand-crank or bellow yet. I'm gonna read a bit more up on the subject and decide. The only thing I know is that it can't be electrically powered, as I'm building the smithy outside, quite some distance away from an electrical outlet.

IMG_0020.JPG

forge.jpg

EDIT: Corrected "correct" to "useable"

Location?  Or can I just suggest you source your refractory over there...

Here in the USA I would use a mix of clay and wood ashes and clean quartz sand; some would just use wood ashes---dampen them down slightly and pack them in; others would use dirt (though adding wood ashes to it gives it a bit more "flexibility".

Can you please give the parameters on "correct" rather than "usable"

I'm located in Scandinavia, more precisely Denmark.