I Forge Iron

building a forge

Hey folks,

Here is my first forge. I will be posting pictures as I build. I'm new to blacksmithing but I want to build something solid that works well. All the components will be assembled from the junk I treasure up in my barn. 

From my perspective, it looks like the website is rotating all my photos 90° to the left.

image.thumb.jpeg.6540b9553fa67a8906dba93image.thumb.jpeg.d4ad284b3ddb2de0ec0567eimage.thumb.jpeg.a5948e89961ec98779473ceimage.thumb.jpeg.803f72925d0060ccb44ba88image.thumb.jpeg.f4225d4001a2a84bfd541e3

Welcome to IFI mate.

If that is gal pipe I wouldnt be using it mate, look up "heavy metal poisoning, Paw Paw Wilson. Good idea on the washing machine frame, but you might like to brace the sides, those things can be a bit floppy.

3 hours ago, Brian Pellerin said:

the junk I treasure up in my barn

No, No, No!  it is never junk, it is material being stored for future important projects.  A Junk label can mean to a spouse something that can be thrown out or given away.   

Heres my repurposed dryer forge and my brake rotor firepot.   Thats a nickel to show hole size. It's a 1/4 plate cut round then tack welded to the bottom of pot.    Your going to have to make the area around the firepot flat otherwise your going to need a huge amount of coal to get it banked up high enough around the pot to make coke.

20160423_083013.jpg

20160130_152122.jpg

Not a bad first forge. While you might be okay I'd lose the galvy pipe and the proportions could be better. I use exhaust pipe, 3" or 4" for the vertical section and 2" for the horizontal air supply section. A 2" hole saw makes the perfect hole and you don't really need to shape the 2" to fit, what little sticks into the big section is unimportant.