I Forge Iron

New guy here

Donniev

Hey guys I've been a lurker for a few months here and finally created an account and thought I'd introduce myself. I'm a pipe welder, but I've always been intrigued by blacksmithing, and after watching Chandler Dickenson's videos on YouTube for a while I finally thought what the xxxx I'm giving it a shot. I'm glad I found this forum, there's a ton of dead forums out there for sure.

I haven't done much to speak of yet, but I'm working on getting a pair of RR spike tongs right now. I'll post pics of my forge and "anvil" below but I do have a few question.

There's hundreds of sites to buy steel on, which one would some of you suggest? Right now I'm just messing around with RR spikes, and after my pair of tongs are finished I'll probably just keep going and make another 3 or 4 pairs and continue to learn by trial and error (as everyone else does) I already am on my 4th try on the tongs (melted some, tried punching the hole in the boss while steel was too cold etc your general noob mistakes) I'm looking forward to getting those spikes hot and messing around. Wondering what kind of steel you would recommend to make a good pair of tongs when I'm confident in my ability to make a "good for a new guy" pair.

I use coal for forge (xxxx it's hard to find in this state) because I live in the city so charcoal was out of the question to use as my fuel.

Any general tips or constructive criticism is always welcomed. Thanks guys

IMG_20160227_181310143.jpg

IMG_20160226_162145792.jpg

IMG_20160226_162135748.jpg

Welcome aboard, glad to have you, the young one in your AVATAR yours? Congrats. Critiques eh? tongs aren't really a beginner project but you look like you're getting the hang of them so carry on. Thin the reins they don't need to be nearly that heavy. There are tong making threads here somewhere, maybe even a section so I won't go into my mistaken thoughts.