I Forge Iron

Make a plan

We have had some beginning business questions lately that I am afraid show how little folks know.  I mean no disrespect.  Unless you went to college for a business degree and have an MBA there is a lot we as normal folks have no idea about and don't know where to begin.  This leads to questions being asked here that are vague, and ultimately unanswerable.  In the last 8 years I have learned a heck of a lot and baptism by fire would be a gentle description of what I went through.  If it were not for a few really rotten people I would have given up.  I hope my experience will help folks starting a business.

Let me preface this by stating that I am not a professional blacksmith.  I own a business that I was thrown into, that I knew nothing about, that was struggling, and this was all at the beginning of the recent global financial unpleasantness. 

I am a teacher.  I had no plans to ever work outside education.  I was on my way to a PhD and had my eyes set on being a superintendent.  I never made it.  I never stopped being a teacher but I had to take over my father-in-law's business after he suddenly passed away.  The manager did his best to run the place into the ground by telling customers the new owners, me and my wife, did not want them as customers.  Customers will believe what they are told.  He tried to sell part of the property without our knowing and was a general jerk.  He quit with no notice leaving us having to uproot our lives and move to where the business was.  We were obviously glad he left after we found out what was going on.  The business I took over was a boat repair and storage business.  I knew nothing about boats besides they were supposed to float.  Flash forward 8 years. We are still in business, and I am still teaching. We closed the repair business after three years and are busier than ever in the storage area.