I Forge Iron

Forged feather - Incense holder

Bhutton

Hey everyone...Got my forge up and going and this is my first project.

Its WIP but soon to be finished. I saw Chandler Dickinson make one of these on you tube...Thought id give it a try.

I still need to draw out the stem at bit and curl it up to hold the incense stem.

Flatening and drawing this out was much more difficult than i had imagined.

Started out with 1/2" diameter re-bar. 18" overall length at the moment.

Ill post more pics when complete.

Thanks Bruce

20160222_181523.jpg

20160222_181530.jpg

Bruce, you done good  for your first project. Feels good don't it. Going from basic drawing and tapering to making something more  artistic is cool. 1/2 inch to that is a lot of work. Check out Brian Brazeal or Alec Steele among others for drawing out tips using the different parts of your rounding hammer. Proper technique lessens how hard you work. Its still a lot of work, but when you done you can say "I made that".  Then you go ice your arms and sleep for 12 hours :-)

Kevin...Yes it feels good. The video i watched the guy said he can make one in a little over an hour...Ive got 3 1/2 in this sucker...LOL

BTW I came close to icing...LOL - I pretty much loose all hammer control after about an hour or so...Much more work than I anticipated.

I need a rounding hammer after watching some of the videos by Brazeal...Wow - He's awesome...THANKS!

Lots of fun!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

That's pretty ambitious for a first project. Looks pretty good though it's more a leaf than a feather, feathers take a lot of finish detail  to look like a feather. Rebar can have a lot of variation in steel so you never know quite what you're working with. This is a pretty hard thing to have to deal with till you've developed more skills. Even "mild" steel from the supplier can be pretty inconsistent but it's better.