I Forge Iron

Local source for bone black and wood charcoal. +size ?

TheGreenMan

I was looking to mess around with color case hardening a bit.

I am hoping someone has a local (to Cincinnati, OH) source for bone black/bone charcoal. Or an online place that isn't prohibitively expensive on price and shipping.

I think I can just use the wood charcoal for grilling from the local hardware store though I will probably need to crush it to a smaller size, and it may be more expensive than in bulk. But at least it is available close.

Brownell's sells both but for $120 for 125 lbs. of the bone black and $44 for 10 lbs. of the wood plus shipping....

They say that they have bone black in 10x28 sieve size and wood in #6 size. But to crush the wood charcoal to the correct size I need to know the size.

What inch size would those be? As a geologist I use mesh size too. Would a #6 sieve equal #6 mesh at about 0.13''? I cannot find a picture of their product to even guess.

As to 10x28 sieve size ..... no clue. Maybe they mean most of the material is caught on a #10 to a #28 mesh?

Try calling a paint manufacturer, bone black used to add black to paint. An art supplier will carry graphite, best of either bone black or charcoal.

Make a tumbler and use bearings for a ball mill to crush your charcoal if you go that route. #6 is kind of coarse for case hardening isn't it? You don't want ANY oxy to get to the steel so why have any more porosity than necessary? Also the more complete the contact between the steel and carbon the more uniform the carbon migration. No? Were I attempting to make blister steel I'd mill to -200 for that reason. And mill the charcoal, lime and toss in something with a little cyanide say peach pits, at the same time for a uniform blend.

That's just me though and I don't know what you mean by "color?" case hardening.

Frosty The Lucky.