I Forge Iron

Pizza Steel

Dustoh

Hello, 

I'm looking to make pizza steels and my main concern is what metal to use. I've read that CSA G40.21 – 44W (which I believe is the same as A36) is safe to use as a cooking surface. I'm very new to this topic and don't know much about the different types of steel or the potential dangers. Any help would be greatly appreciated.   

What country do you live in? I have never heard of 44W.

All of the alloys usually have their specs listed online. The main things to watch for are big contents of lead, cadmium, and other heavy metals. 

For a pizza steel the time in contact with the food is minimal, very minimal. Most problems come from acidic foods in contact for a much longer time, like simmering. 

What are the commercial ones made from? Use what they do...

They are both low alloy structural steels available in Canada, and as far as I know, would not meet NSF requirements for commercial food service equipment in the US.

Then again, somebody is making big iron cooktops for Denny's and IHOP. I just have no idea what the requirements are for that item.

Make sure you get a spec sheet with a heat number matching your batch proving that there is minimal tramp elements, or you may end up liable.

Mechanical Properties for: 44W/300W (300W is the metric yield designation)
Tensile: 65 to 85 ksi
Yield: 44 ksi min
Elongation: 20% min in 8” 23% min in 2”

Mechanical Properties:A36
Tensile: 58 to 80 ksi
Yield: 36 ksi min
Elongation: 18% min in 8” 21% min in 2” (for plates wider than 24”)

Thank you for the responses. As for what the commercial ones are made of it sounds vague to me but here some examples,carbon steel, Ultra-Conductive Steel, and food-grade steel. Is there a steel you can buy that is food-grade that isn't stainless steel? Stainless, from what I read it doesn't have the same heating properties and will not make a good pizza steel.

Long story short: is this for commercial installation or is this private property?