I Forge Iron

What to look for in a machinist vice

hanzosbm

I'm very new to blacksmithing and am fortunate enough to be able to do all my forging at a local museum. However, my time there is limited so I make use of it by forging. My intention is to do all finishing work at home.  So, while I know that a machinist vice won't hold up to hammer blows, all I need it for is to hold material while I file it. With that being said, is there any benefit to getting something good versus something from harbor freight?

What features should I be looking for? Size seems obvious, but anything else? Because of how new I am, I want to keep it relatively general. (In other words, I'm not looking for a vice specifically made for bladesmiths since I don't know if I'll be interested in that)

Thanks in advance.

You want a good sturdy vise with jaws that mate up straight, and square. Try to avoid the cheap ones that have a lot of slop in them, both in the screw, as well as the slide. Look on your local Craigslist, as well as garage sales, fleamarkets, etc. Vises are abundant, and I have found many at bargain prices- $25 or under.  If you get one with a swivel base, take it apart, or just flip it over, and inspect the locking mechanism, as many are broken from over tightening. If you stick with a made in USA, you should be fine. Wilton, Columbian, Reed, etc..

Second the notion of checking the swivel bases---many are poorly made int eh first place and barely hold so get over-tightened.  Chinese vices are especially bad on this account as one of the places they save material is the swivel base.