I Forge Iron

Aloha from Hawaii!

JamesD

Aloha all!

My name is James Drescher, and I am a Nursing student living on the Big Island of Hawaii (specifically Hilo ;) ). For the past couple months, I've been doing loads of research on blacksmithing. I've always wanted to craft something with my bare hands, and after some searching found blacksmithing! I'm curious if there are any IFI members who are also living in Hawaii?

In regards to my progress in getting started, I have a Peddinghaus Swedish pattern (1000g) cross pein hammer, some hot rolled varities of steel to practice some of the basic blacksmithing techniques, but I am in need of a forge and an anvil. I have a 16 inch piece of RR track, but would prefer a larger work surface to hammer on. I also am planning to order a cast iron forge from a blacksmith named Klaus (lives in Arizona, I believe?). Anyone familiar with his work? The firepot and assembly look great ( it includes a clinker breaker and dump ash gate). Since I live in the middle of the Pacific Ocean, coal is nearly nonexistent here, and so I had to order some from eBay! I have approximately 100 lbs so far. I like the idea of working with coal, though I hope I don't smoke up the neighborhood! :) 

Regarding my research, I've read books like " The Complete Modern Blacksmith, " and "Backyard Blacksmith" by Lorelei Sims. I found both books very informative, and will try out the basic techniques mentioned within them! Thank you very much for reading this. Hopefully, I can meet any local blacksmiths in my area. I am eager to learn about this great craft!!!! 

Welcome aboard James, glad to have you. I just told Deb, my spousal unit about your desire to make things with your BARE hands . . . blacksmithing. She's been laughing steady except for the odd comment for several minutes now. :lol:! :lol:! :lol:!

Please don't make me TELL you why she's laughing or BOY do we have some learning to do.