I Forge Iron

Novice to all but the very basics, in need of help

I'm working on a knife and the O1 steel is 2"x13" and I need it a little wider ir is 1/4 inch thick, the client wants it around that thickness if I heat and widen the steel alittle it will be ok, or should I get a wider piece of steel? Im a novice when it comes to a set pattern and bar steel lol, any advice would be greatly appreciated, it was mentioned to me that i should forge the first finger groove then start a bend like my template design, anyone have any tips and advice?

11023334_854080327973552_2800856296980335523_n.jpg

If you were heart and soul set on doing purely stock removal, then you will want another piece. 

If you are feeling a bit gutsy. You could redraw the handle somewhat straight, cut it out, then heat the midpoint of the handle to get your curve, but you would have to account for the increased thickness at the inside part of the bend is the only post process hiccup that should come up. 

so it depends, do it the easy way, or do it the " hard " way, as you could heat that and bend it in one heat no problem.

Hows the O1 flat stock for removal, I have only ever worked O1 in round stock full blown forging, fun stuff, like it a lot more then leaf spring sections which I have far more of. 

ive never worked O1, its my first try for a customer, ive done only a eaf spring and smelted some ore i got from a mine car a feww years ago, small run LOL, some say its ok, while others swear against it.

Malice, I believe I will do as you suggest, cut it out and do a bend, it will distort so should i elongate it a it before i cut it out, or cut it out then elongate?