I Forge Iron

Looking for help to identify my new anvil 300# - PW?

Very proud to say I picked this anvil up last week for my shop, and am looking to identify the brand and vintage.  

This will be my new main forging anvil so I am looking to clean it up and mainly want to know it's story

I think it is a Peter Wright from the research I have done by design of the feet but I am a newbie at anvil identification.

I weighed it and it is a hair under 300 pounds

I believe it is Forged Steel construction.

It has no markings other than a "H" on each side of the front foot. I have cleaned up the sides and nothing. It looks as if the machinists tested there punches on the side face and have destroyed any markers mark, brand stamp, or weight stamping.

It rings like a bell, and has good rebound. I never thought I would own an anvil of this quality and size.

I bought this anvil from an individual cleaning out his deceased fathers old workshop.  He believed his father acquired this anvil from CN (Canadian National) Railway shop, as his father used to work for CN.  

It has seen some serious work which makes sense with the CN Story. I may get it refaced at a local machine shop. Also looking for advice on this.

5.jpg

4.jpg

3.jpg

2.jpg

1.jpg

6.jpg

7.jpg

8.jpg

9.jpg

Well done. should do you very well.

I would not consider having it machined for a minute. The most I would do to the surface is 120grit sanding disc in an angle grinder to knock down any highlights thrown up by the dings. Even those you would be better off tapping down with a hammer.