I Forge Iron

First projects

So, I want to be a blacksmith. I have been gathering information about blacksmithing lately, the only thing is, I don't know where to start. It seems that the underlying theme to everything I have been reading is, just get after it. I just don't know what I should attempt to make first. So, I thought I would ask y'all what your very first project was and how it turned out.

Also, any advice you might have for someone who hasn't even picked up a hammer yet would be helpful as well.

I'm a beginner too. I picked up "The Backyard Blacksmith"  http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/0785825673/ref=oh_aui_detailpage_o01_s00?ie=UTF8&psc=1 at Amazon pretty cheap. It seems to go over the basics pretty good and has some starter projects that yield useful things but take you through basic techniques too.

in addition to what dick said, see if there are any blacksmiths in your area that give lessons. What really got me hooked was taking a class a local blacksmith was giving on how to make a forged knife.

Welcome aboard Bandit, glad to have you. There's a little difference between build a fire and get to it and Just get to it. doing some reading first is a good idea. I know I spent a few years trying to teach myself and wasn't doing so well till I discovered some books. A person should build a fire and get to it for sure just don't stop researching.

What do you have for kit? You don't need much at all but a little helps a lot.

What do you have for stock? My favorite is 3/8" sq. or 1/2" rd. mild but that's me. Depending on what your interests are different sizes are better. 5/16" rd is good too.

When you say you haven't picked up a hammer, do you mean that metaphorically or literally. If you've never used a hammer that's okay there are good exercises to help you develop the eye hand and muscle memory blacksmithing requires. If however I'm right and you mean you just haven't hit hot steel yet, we got you covered there too. No worries.