I Forge Iron

Hello!

jonoaf

I just wanted to introduce myself. I'm Jon from Virginia and I'm an amateur/aspiring hobbyist..at least for now. So far, I don't have much forge time, but I've been lurking here for a few weeks as well as participating on a few different blacksmithing groups on Facebook. I've been a member of Central Va Blacksmith Guild for about 2 months and I highly value and appreciatte the advice and assistance I've received so far. I've also got all the tools I need to get started now, just need to finish some cleanup and restoration of my finds, and set up a home for them.Thanks for having me, I'll post some pictures soon!

Welcome aboard Jon, glad to have you. I don't know what kind of advice I can offer you already put your general location in the header, hooked up with the regional organization, found your tools and such. <sigh>

Pics! I almost forgot pics, we LOVE pics: tools, projects, shop, family, pets, homestead, dinner. . . Most any pics suitable for a family forum are welcome.

Frosty The Lucky.

My anvil. It's a 150# Hay-Budden I found at a yard sale advertised on Craigslist. I called the seller and asked if they would be willing to part with the anvil prior to the sale and they said yes!

My first Leg Vise. I got this from a middle aged couple who's kids weren't interested in it. It origianlly belonged to the wifes grandfather. My guild has since kindly asissted in manufacturing a new spring and mount.

I originally came for the forge, but the seller also sold me his previously unadvertised leg vise and post drill for $30 each :-D I've got the forge stripped apart in my shed in th process of being cleaned. It was completely frozen.

All in all I've now got the basics to get started. The anvil came with a pair of flat tongs and I've got two cross-peens and a hot punch I picked up at a flea market. I should be able to make most of what I might need at this point with enough proactice. Now I just need a permanent home for my loot, hahah.