I Forge Iron

question about punches

Hi I'm new to blacksmithing and of course been doing a lot of reading on the Internet, I have a pretty good idea of how most of the tools, and basic processes but one leaves me wondering my question is,
I understand you use a cold chisel for cutting COLD and from what I can gather is
Any tool you use to punch hot work is
UNHARDENED which means I can take a pcs of soft tool steel and punch a redhot pc of steel , I can understand the reasoning that it'll ruin the temper on a hard tool
But will any type of rod be able to be used as a punch? Maybe some of you could enlighten me kinda limited on resources for now and don't wanna waste or wreck anything if I don't have to thanks.

The better punches are made of steel that stays pretty strong even when heated... like H series steels.  You'll find that medium carbon steels of any kind will make pretty good punches.  Yes you can use mild steel to punch with... but you'll get limited service from it.  Better IMO to stick with medium carbon for such tools and then go to the better alloys for tools that will be used for high production purposes.

I use H13 or S7 on my punches that see lots of use. The mid carbon punches work ok, but you need to use them more skillfully, you need to keep from over heating them, by removing them from the stock you are punching sooner so that they do not over heat. The tempering temps for the mid carbon might be around 500f, on H13 it will be around 1000f.

Balcones Forge has had Mark Aspery down for the last two year for our workshops and big demos.  He likes to use sucker rod to make a lot of his tooling.  I picked up 2000 lbs of it at the salvage yard a couple of years ago and used it for the fence around our yard.  It was 25 cents a pound at the salvage yard.  Save the ends if you do this, they make great hardie tools.

Let me take a swing at this: