I Forge Iron

Any tips for an Architecture Student Designing a House with a smithy?

Hi everyone,

As the title suggests, I'm a first year architecture student at the University of Bath in the UK who has a uni project to design a brick house, part of the brief stated that one of the people had to work from home and we were allowed to choose the occupation.I chose blacksmith as I had recently seen some of the amazing wrought iron architectural details that metalworkers make in a museum in London.

I also chose it as I was wondering whether I could use the huge amount of heat generated from the forge to heat the rest of the house in some manner (e.g. waste heat heats up the water) or a forge that doubles up as back of a hearth?

I've done a little bit of research into the big (as in relevant for designing the space) equipment needed and narrowed it down to forge, anvil, extraction hose/blower, work bench, vice, tool rack/table and possibly power hammer? - if I've forgotten anything please say!

I've also seen a few plans here such as this one:  but I just wanted to ask a few things:'?do=embed' frameborder='0' data-embedContent>>

Anyway, I just wanted to ask a few things:

1) any particular reason for the arrangement of the equipment? should the forge be in a certain spot etc.?

2) rough dimensions (only really need floorspace occupied and maybe heights) of the equipment

3) does anyone have a workshop attached/on the same site as your house? does this make any differences?

and finally:

if you were the client are there any things any of you guys would specifically want/need?