I Forge Iron

First Attempt...at anything

3DistinctKnocks

So, my 12 year old daughter (one of the twins) wanted a hunting knife.  I couldn't find one that I was comfortable with her having so I decided to make her one.  I've rigged up a little charcoal forge out of an old cast iron sink and picked up a nice piece of rr track for an ASO.  I had several horseshoes laying around off of our TN Walkers.  Jayme loves riding and hunting so I made her a horseshoe knife.  Keep in mind that this is my first attempt at anything forging-related so don't expect to see Excalliber!  I'm not entirely done with sanding and finishing, but I thought I'd show ya'll what I have at the moment.  I somewhat heat treated the blade section and it is a little harder than the handle (quarters and heel) so while it does hold an edge somewhat, it won't cut a cord of wood if you drop it.  I stamped her initials on the heel, which will get a good polish.  My initial and the year is stamped on the back of the handle (not shown).  Maybe she'll end up using it as a letter opener as an adult.  Might even pass it on to her kids when I'm old and gray-er.

post-45219-0-65151800-1380421737_thumb.j

post-45219-0-17897400-1380421742_thumb.j

post-45219-0-79553500-1380421743_thumb.j

Not bad for a first try, and definitely big points for doing something like that for your daughter.

A good blade has to have a certain percentage of carbon, which is lacking in horse shoes.  You might get a modicum of edge on it by quenching it in water or brine, but don't expect much.

Looks like you have good hammer control and an eye for design.  That bodes will for future projects!