I Forge Iron

Can you please help me identify my anvil?

Hey guys im seth and im new to smithing. I just picked this up the other day and the guy said it was pre-civil war. From what I can tell its colonial pattern, it's 123# and has a 3/4" hardy hole. It looks beat up so I am wanting to know if its a good anvil and if its worth grinding down the surface?

Welcome aboard Seth glad to have you. you've come to a great place to get started, pull up a comfy chair, bring a lunch and something to drink and read IFI.

There isn't a lot anyone can tell you for sure about your anvil, even assuming your description is 100% accurate, you'll need to post a picture or two so the guys who know anvils can take a look. A shot of each side one of the face and if there's anything stamped on, pics of that two. If you use oblique lighting details will stand out much better. You can rub it down with chalk or charcoal then wipe it off with a cloth. This will leave the details below the surface colored so they stand out better.

Do NOT grind the surface down! Chances are if it's colonial pattern the face is pretty thin to start with and grinding it smooth could very well ruin it, you need a minimum thickness or it'll deform.

Just don't get in a hurry, let some of the guys here who are anvil experts chime in, they'll be along soon.

Frosty The Lucky.

Ok my bad I thought I did post pics. I'll try to get more in the morning but this is the best I can do, it looks like someone painted it to keep it from rusting or something. It looks like there might be a hundredweight on it i see "15" on the right side. Thanks for the quick reply!

post-45226-0-81222200-1376275063_thumb.j

post-45226-0-78580700-1376275085_thumb.j

Don't sweat the pics Seth, it takes a while to figure out how IFI does it.

Mac's right, grinding on that anvil would be some kind of criminal. There's nothing wrong with it as is, perfectly usable and on top of that it's a piece of history.

Frosty The Lucky.