I Forge Iron

Modern Katana; tips and recommendation

Henrick

Hey guys,

this is my first post in the forging-community.

I want to make a modern katana, but it should be made by a low budget, so without damascus steel and Tsuba.

But the metallurgy-process will be made by a professional bladesmith.

I am not sure if I should use 1.2235 (80CrV2) or C75 (1.1248) ?!

The blade will be 40-50cm long and 3-4mm thick...what do you think about this and how wide do you think?

My Inspiration for the Katana: '?do=embed' frameborder='0' data-embedContent>>

As a proof that I am not a beginner :D 

post-39143-0-23909300-1371660130_thumb.j

post-39143-0-19339800-1371660136_thumb.j

Nice greetings from Germany ;)

Welcome aboard Henrick, glad to have you. If you'll put your general location in the header you'll discover we have lots of folk from Germany here on IFI.

Sorry I'm no help with selecting blade steels, especially European alloy designations. Heck, I'm not a bladesmith guy here in the USA.

Frosty The Lucky.

Wouldn't accept a commission unless we agreed on the alloy(s) beforehand. 

I'm with you  Thomas, that or charge time and materials above the agreed price.

Not to hijack the thread Henrick, sorry.  But I need a little help here, I was digging through a box of steel I fellow sent me some time ago and I found something I don't know about. Crucible Rex-95.

Anybody know what I have here?

Frosty The Lucky.

Do you want to go with a traditional heat treat with a differential hardening and low tempering?

For a sword to fight off the zombie hordes I'd go with 5160 or Cr55 if I recall the european designation correctly.

A straight 1050 will show off clay hardening better; but of course traditional heat treating leaves you with the traditional weaknesses of such blades.