I Forge Iron

Hammer Control

Hi I am fairly new to blacksmithing and I'm struggling with hammer control. Anything that I forge is covered with terrible hammer marks and gouges. I have dressed my hammer face and I feel that my hammer control is to blame. I feel that the reason for this is that when I hit the metal my hammer blows are not straight up and down but at a slight angle making the edge of the hammer dig into the metal with each blow. That being said I have had little luck in correcting the issue. I have noticed using a lighter hammer helps some. My question is what is the best way to learn good hammer control and keep these hammer marks off of what I'm Forging?

I have a feeling you still may need to dress the hammer face. Crown it back further and see if it makes a difference.

For moving metal quickly, it is good to hit the steel with the face of the hammer at an angle. Striking with a certain edge of the face depending on where you are moving the metal moves the metal in the desired direction much much faster than hitting squarely with the face.

As for getting better control, I can suggest a few things:
Swing the hammer more- Cut up some stock. Something like eight or more pieces 1/2" square, and draw a taper on each end of each piece as an exercise.
Try forging in the dark. In the dark, you must be able to align the face of the hammer and your swing with the steel you are forging without using your eyes. Being able to do this will give you better hammer control at all hours.
Look at Uri Hofi's blue prints on his hammer technique. I will tell you now. It is very difficult to get used to. It took me almost a month to get the grip alone of that style correct. I don't expect many people at all who read this to even try it. I probably wouldn't have. It isn't easy to get used to. I had to see it in action to get motivated to pick up that style.

Another thing I want to add concerning the way steel moves: