I Forge Iron

what should i do with a cheap hammer

daviddklb

hi, i've been reading this site for a while now, this is my first post. i love this site and it's a great service.

serious question, i'm just getting started in blacksmithing on a budget. went to menards and found a 2lb cross peen hammer for $9. The octogonal face has concentric ridges in it, and the edges are a bit sharp. Likewise the cross peen has some sharpness on the edges.

finally it has a fiberglass handle. I've picked up a hickory handle for it, i suppose my first question is whether to use the fiberglass handle or put it on hickory immediately? i haven't seen any blacksmiths using fiberglass handles, is it going to be detrimental?

i'm assuming that i'll need to put some sanding work into both faces of the hammer, smooth/round the edges a bit? should i finely polish the face of the hammer? what's the best way to go about getting a good face on it?

i have plenty of time to spend on this, just not much money, so any help anyone can offer in improving my cheap hammer will be appreciated

I forged for quite a long time with a 2.5-pound cross-peen that cost me a similar amount. round the edges on the face starting with a 60 grit sand paper, then 80, then 100, then 220. 220 grit paper will not give you a mirror polish, but you don't need that. 80 grit would actually probably be all you really have to have.

Just round the edges. Those sharp little grind lines (called facets) are not good for forging. Round everything off. (If you've got a corded screw gun with a disk sander attachment, that works great. Just finished one of my hammers like that the other day.