I Forge Iron

Main arm muscle building

CaptainBruno

Okay so I have a slightly unusual question. I am right handed and I've been welding and doing metal work for about 2 years now and I just went to get a professional massage the other day. The masseuse made a remark how my right arm and shoulder muscles are larger than my left side. It's not very noticeable yet but with extended working especially blacksmithing, I'm afraid I'm just going to get a overly strong right arm and a weak left arm.

The left side still has to hold tight and my forearm and hand muscles are quite strong but I just use very different muscle groups on both arms. 

Do I just do some left arm dumbell lifts when I get home at the end of the day? How should I counteract this?

Teach yourself to forge lefty?  Could come in handy some time. First forge weld I ever made (with help from a CBA instructor) I was moving so fast I grabbed the hammer lefty and hit the weld. It worked, I might have even hit it too hard in my excitment had I grabbed it right (normally I'm right handed)

There have been a few long term sanding/grinding/filing projects where I've learned to switch left and right just to be able to keep going.

Best answered by a professional physical therapist or masseuse, but a while back when I had a professional massage, she commented that I was amazingly symmetrical for a farrier. I tend to do symmetrical exercises, barbell vs dumbbell, pushups, that sort of thing.. The strong side can loaf while the weak side catches up. She also asked if she could use her elbows rather than her hands since my muscles were so hard. A lack of symmetry can lead to structural problems.